Junior Phase prize giving

The Junior Phase prize giving ceremony took place on Saturday, 1 December 2018.

Book prizes:

  • Aarav Baboolal – Improved social interaction with peers
  • Karl Mukaz – Improved social behaviour
  • Reese von Broembsen – Always displaying lovely manners


Trophy winners:

  • Chauhan Trophy for Friendship – Orehloletse Sebiloane
  • Nel Trophy for Independence – Mondli Nyoni
  • George Thabe Art and Craft Creativity Trophy – Bayanda Robertson
  • De Abreu Trophy for Computers – Tlotlomatso Matebesi
  • Hirner Shield for Speech Development – Qhawe Mvula
  • Paul Trophy for Occupational Therapy – Benjamin Phakamea
  • Hogan Trophy for Social Development – Bayanda Robertson
  • Brockhaug Shield for Literacy – Amar Nagar
  • Brockhaug Shield for Life Skills – Michael Arden


Intermediate and Senior Phase prize giving

The prize giving for the two older phases took place on Tuesday, 4 December 2018.

Intermediate Phase

Book prizes:

  • Shariq Kisten – For improvement in class participation
  • Avia Caissutti – For improvement in class activities
  • Mikkel Christensen – For improved confidence and helpfulness
  • Chinyama Nyirenda – For improvement in all learning areas
  • Ty Ogden – For his passion in Maths
  • Kayla Kennaugh – For excellent Maths skills
  • Ntshembo Shivuri – For excellent Maths skills
  • Joshua Kerrigan – For dedication and excellence in Maths


Trophy winners:

  • Joshua Noome Trophy for Cookery – Nondumiso Thabe
  • Rothman Trophy for Independence – Rilee Govender
  • McNames Trophy for Social Development – Mikkel Christensen
  • Eurelle Trophy for Courtesy – Miles Harding
  • Dannhauser Trophy for Endurance – David King
  • Scott Trophy for Leadership Development – Ntsika Mabongo
  • Brandjes Trophy for Writing Skills in LO class – Tumelo Mhlaba
  • Moulyneux Trophy for Progress in Computers – Nkosana Mvuyana
  • Reighleigh Oliver Trophy for Art – Ty Ogden
  • Hirner Shield for Speech Development – Kayla Kennaugh
  • Van Heerden Trophy for Occupational Therapy – Stephanie Pringle
  • Seskin Spirit of Unity Trophy – Dino de Abreu
  • Amy Harrison Trophy for Attendance – Shariq Kisten
  • Harrison Trophy for Grooming – Jeanne Nel
  • Anne Prince Trophy for Excellence in Drama – Hayley de Villiers
  • De Abreu Trophy for Computers – Ty Ogden

Senior Phase 

Trophy winners:

  • Burns Trophy for Greater Independence – Maya Dahab
  • Robertshaw Shining Star Trophy – Carsen Austen
  • Lydia Lapperman Shield for Social Development – Daniel Kelly
  • Gerber Trophy for Diligence – Kutloano Thoobe & Mongezi Madinane
  • Recognition for Enthusiasm – Giorgios Iliades
  • Wilkinson Trophy for Grooming – Kamogelo Mokone
  • Eurelle Trophy for Courtesy – Connor Burns
  • Ex-Fire Trophy for Upholding the Values of Unity – Joshua Young & Siyanda Sangqu
  • Seligman Trophy for Endurance – Miles Sacke
  • Bryden Trophy for Computer Literacy – Valentia Ngwenya
  • Entrepreneurship Trophy – Miles Sacke
  • Macrides Trophy for Excellence in Drama – Sindi Pullinger
  • The Oliver Lawrence Trophy – Oratile Mokopi
  • Loewenthal Trophy for Sports – Connor Burns & Nicola Walker
  • Trophy for Players Player of the Year – Connor Burns
  • Rael Levitan Trophy for Literacy – Sindi Pullinger
  • Mosavel Trophy for Mathematics – Jason Gerber
  • Cuan Viljoen Work Experience Trophy – Connor Burns & Miles Sacke
  • The Mwenechanya Trophy for Social Etiquette – Jason Byrne
  • Unity Trophy for Courage – Devon Kroeger
  • Seskin Trophy for Spirit of Unity – Valentia Ngwena
  • Chairman’s Trophy for Academics – Connor Burns
  • Principal’s Award – Raunak Paul

Adult Learners


School leavers

Raunak Paul, Mongezi Madinane and Sindi Pullinger have finished their schooling career at Unity College. They had an opportunity to address the audience, to publicly thank the teachers and classmates who made their time at Unity very special. We wish them all the best in their future endeavours!

Monitors and prefects for 2019

Jason Gerber and Connor Burns will continue in their role as prefects.

The monitors for 2019 were announced:
Kutloano Thoobe, Miles Sacke, Nicola Walker, Maya Dahab, Joshua Young, Valencia Ngwenya and Siyanda Sangqu (absent).



Leave a Reply


captcha *